|homeabout the clubthe courseofficers/staffmembershipFixtures 2018/19 Results|
a brief history of
A few years before the turn of the century, six local gentry obtained permission from Lord Chesham, the owner of the common, to make, at first six holes of golf.
By 1900 the course was nine holes, named Chesham Golf Club, and it was formally instituted. There was no golf played during the Great War, but the club was reformed shortly afterwards with the headquarters in a back room of the nearby Crown Hotel.
For the next forty years very little changed, the course was a little shorter but with a bogey (par) of 72. Clearly the hickory shafted brassies, mashies and niblicks did not achieve great distances with the soft balls of the time.
During the early years, sheep were kept clear of the golfers by a local shepherd. Local boys acted as caddies principally for the ladies, and what trees did grow were often cut down by travellers.
In the early 1960s the members purchased an old wooden children's school, which had been used by the US Air Force. The cost was a few hundred pounds and with a little outside assistance the members collected, rebuilt and converted the building to our own clubhouse. This was further extended in the mid 1970s and early 1990s.
Photographs of the common in the 1900s show that it was a rather bleak heath land, but with a good deal of hard effort this has been transformed into a delightful tree lined course considered one of the most charming and picturesque courses for many a mile.
©2014 Chesham & Ley Hill Golf Club
This site is sponsored and supported by Amersham Computers